Review: The Diviners by Libba Bray

Aug 20, 2019


The Diviners by Libba Bray


Published by Little Brown Books on Sept 12th, 2012
Genre: Historical Fiction
Pages: 578
Format: Audiobook & Hardback
Source: Audible.com
AmazonAddto Goodreads


My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Goodreads Synopsis:


Do you believe there are ghosts and demons and Diviners among us?

Evie O'Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It's 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he'll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfurled in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened....

Printz Award-winning and New York Times bestselling author Libba Bray opens a brand-new historical series with The Diviners, where the glittering surface of the Roaring Twenties hides a mystical horror creeping across the country.
   
 

Trigger Warnings: murder, gore scenes, animal cruelty, racism, death of a family members, rape, and abortion.

This book is so the "CATS MEOW" and POS-I-TUT-ELY full of life and completely the BEE'S KNEES. The world is set in New York 1920's. I loved it! The plot was dark and a bit creepy at times. I did read the book along with the audiobook. The audiobook for this is amazing. You would think that there was a full cast of narrators but there was only one.

The opening scene is a party that is being thrown and they begin to play a game and ask the spirit world questions but they were warned that if you open the portal, you must close it. After secrets are revealed and some get upset and storm off, they fail to close the portal by saying good-bye - well we meet Naughty John.

“Naughty John, Naughty John, does his work with his apron on. Cuts your throat and takes your bones, sells 'em off for a coupla stones.”

We follow a young 18 year old girl, Evie O'Neal, as she is sent to New York to stay with her uncle because she has a special gift and she revealed secrets that were not to be told in her home town.

“People always fear what they don't understand, Evangeline. History proves that.”

When murders start happening all over New York and each one appears to connected and all bodies have been marked. Evie can't help herself from wanting to see the first scene that appeared after she arrived in NY. Being a curious person that she is, she leans down to buckle to buckle back of the dead girl but when she touches it, she has flashes of the girl and hears the humming to a song. She is pulled out and she isn't sure if what sure heard was real. After several other deaths and her hearing the same humming, she soon realizes that this all have to be the same person. Evie begins her search on helping solve the case of who is doing all the murders but the case is more complicated that they assumed since the killer is already dead. (not a spoiler)

“I thought research would be more glamorous, somehow. I'd give the librarian a secret code word and he'd give me the one book I needed and whisper the necessary page numbers. Like a speakeasy. With books.”

I loved the romance in this book. It was very mild but It was there. The story was not overwhelmed by the romance which I loved. You still got a hint of it while enjoying this story.

“You can’t blame a fella for kissing the prettiest girl in New York, can you, sister?” Sam’s grin was anything but apologetic.

Evie brought up her knee quickly and decisively, and he dropped to the floor like a grain sack. “You can’t blame a girl for her quick reflexes now, can you, pal?”


The side cast to this book is amazing. I love Memphis, which I do hope we get more his story in book 2 because I do feel like book 1 left out a lot about him and his brother Issac.

“Life don’t come to you, Memphis. You gotta take it. We have to take it. Because ain’t nobody handing it to us.”

I love Thea - I think she is one of my favorties. She is a dancer at the Hotsy Totsy, which is a night club. I love the names and how this story was told. Thea was full of life and she knew she was the life of the party. but she had secrets. - They all have secrets.

You never know who has powers and who doesn't. I really hope that all the stories combine more in book 2 and 3. I am wanting to complete my read of this before the release of book 4 this year.

This book did have some creep factors to it and was a bit dark at times. There is a scene of animal cruelty that was tossed in there so fast, I did not see it coming. I was a bit thrown off by it.

Just keep in mind, you will have to follow several characters in this book and not all the stories will be told so I assume we will get all the stories in the books to come.

Some of our side charaters:

Mable
Sam
Jericho
Henry
The old ladies (cant remember names but creepy)
Blind Bill
Issac
Memphis
and we also have a cast of cops and brethren hood in this book.
     

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The Emperor's Fist: A Blackhawk Novel

Aug 16, 2019

The Emperor's Fist: A Blackhawk Novel The Emperor's Fist: A Blackhawk Novel by Jay Allan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Thank you very much to Christina at Harper Collins for reaching out to me to review this book.

It has been a dream to work with Harper Collins. Christina you are the best!!!!

I highly enjoyed this book! I was very surprised because I don't normally read this type of book but it was very fast paced and full of on my seat wanting to know what happens moments. The plot of the story took some building but I really enjoyed this because I got to know the story behind the book and what was really going on. The character building was great. I wasn't able to read the first books in this series because of the deadline approaching for this ARC but I wanted to check it out and I was able to still understand and know what was going on. It was an honor to work with Harper Collins on this and so glad they reached out to me. I really hope I get to work with them again.

I would recommend giving this series a chance. You may just enjoy it.

Goodreads Synopsis:

In this thrilling new installment in the Far Stars saga, a reluctant hero with a bloody past must reunite with an old love to battle an evil emperor willing to destroy all their worlds if he cannot control them.

When the Far Stars came under imperial attack, Astra Lucerne—the daughter and successor of the Far Stars’ greatest conqueror—Marshal Augustin Lucerne—rallied her father’s confederation forces to defend their worlds. They were joined in the fight by former imperial general Arkarin Blackhawk, a warrior whose skills and brutality made him infamous, and who has, for two decades, sought the redemption he knows is unreachable.

Now, with the imperial foothold in the sector eliminated, the Far Stars is free and almost united. While Astra’s forces continue to depose local tyrants and warlords, Ark and his crew have slipped back into the shadows. Though his heart belongs to Astra, Ark cannot get too close. His imperial conditioning remains under control, but it is still volatile, and the temptation of power threatens to unleash the dark compulsions that made him the most merciless of the emperor’s servants. He cannot risk allowing Astra to see the darkness inside him.

But while the battle has been won, the war may not be over. A petty smuggler makes a discovery that can enable the emperor to strike back and crush the resistance—unless Ark and Astra join forces again to stop him.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Goodreads Win: Dead Silence by Wendy Corsi Staub

Dead Silence by Wendy Corsi Staub


Published by William Morrow on July 23th, 2019
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 366
Format: Paperback
Source: Goodreads
Amazon Addto Goodreads


My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I am excited to find out that I have won the Goodreads Giveaway for this book! I can't wait to get this book in the mail. I have read so many great books the last 2 months. I love a good Mystery/Thiller book!!

Goodreads Synopsis:

New York Times Bestselling Author Wendy Corsi Staub is the master of psychological suspense. Here, she delves into the twisted mind of The Angler, who lures his human prey the way he catches fish. Sometimes, he gets one worth keeping . . . for a little while . . .

No Such Thing as Coincidence . . .

Staring into his frightened blue eyes, investigative genealogist Amelia Crenshaw Haines vows to help this silent little boy who is unable—or unwilling—to communicate his past. Though her own roots remain shrouded in mystery, she relies on tangible DNA evidence to help fellow foundlings uncover theirs . . . until a remarkable twist of fate presents a stranger bearing an eerily familiar childhood souvenir.

NYPD Missing Persons Detective Stockton Barnes has spent his career searching for other people’s lost loved ones and outrunning a youthful misstep. Now a chance encounter with a key player from that fateful night leads him on a desperate quest to locate the one woman he’s ever regretted leaving—unless a savage killer finds her first.

As Amelia and Barnes uncover intertwining truths—and lies—the real horror emerges not in crimes already committed, but in evil yet to come . . .

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Lies in White Dresses

Lies in White Dresses by Sofia Grant


Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on Sept 17th, 2019
Genre: Historical Fiction
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback
Source: Goodreads
Amazon Addto Goodreads


My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I am excited to find out that I have won the Goodreads Giveaway for this book! I can't wait to get this book in the mail. I have read so many great books the last 2 months. I love a good Historical Fiction book!!

Goodreads Synopsis:

In the 1940s and 50s, women who needed a fast divorce went to Nevada to live on a ranch with other women in the same boat. This historical novel was inspired by the true stories of those who “took the Reno cure.”

Francie Meeker and Vi Carothers were sold a bill of goods: find a man, marry him in a white wedding gown, and live happily ever after. These best friends never expected to be on the train to Reno, those “lies in white dresses” shattered, their marriages over.

On board the train they meet June Samples, who is fleeing an abusive husband with her daughter, and take the vulnerable young mother under their wing. The three decide to wait out the required six weeks together, and then they can toss their wedding bands into the Truckee River and start new lives as divorcees.

But as they settle in at the ranch, one shocking moment will change their lives forever. As it brings their deceptions and fears into focus, it will also demand a reckoning with the past, and the choices that a person in love can be driven to make.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Goodreads ARC Win: Betrayal in Berlin: The True Story of the Cold War's Most Audacious Espionage Operation

Betrayal in Berlin: The True Story of the Cold War's Most Audacious Espionage Operation by Steve Vogel


Published by Custom House  on Sept 24th, 2019
Genre: Non-Fiction
Pages: 544
Format: Paperback
Source: Goodreads


My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I am excited to find out that I have won the Goodreads Giveaway for this book! I can't wait to get this book in the mail. I have read so many great books the last 2 months. I love a good Historical book!!

Goodreads Synopsis:

The astonishing true story of the Berlin Tunnel, one of the West’s greatest espionage operations of the Cold War—and the dangerous Soviet mole who betrayed it.

Its code name was “Operation Gold,” a wildly audacious CIA plan to construct a clandestine tunnel into East Berlin to tap into critical KGB and Soviet military telecommunication lines. The tunnel, crossing the border between the American and Soviet sectors, would have to be 1,500 feet (the length of the Empire State Building) with state-of-the-art equipment, built and operated literally under the feet of their Cold War adversaries. Success would provide the CIA and the British Secret Intelligence Service access to a vast treasure of intelligence. Exposure might spark a dangerous confrontation with the Soviets. Yet as the Allies were burrowing into the German soil, a traitor, code-named Agent Diamond by his Soviet handlers, was burrowing into the operation itself. . .

Betrayal in Berlin is Steve Vogel’s heart pounding account of the operation. He vividly recreates post-war Berlin, a scarred, shadowy snake pit with thousands of spies and innumerable cover stories. It is also the most vivid account of George Blake, perhaps the most damaging mole of the Cold War. Drawing upon years of archival research, secret documents, and rare interviews with Blake himself, Vogel has crafted a true-life spy story as thrilling as the novels of John le CarrĂ© and Len Deighton.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Angelfall

Aug 12, 2019

Angelfall by Susan Ee


Published by Skyscrape on Aug 18th, 2012
Genre: Fantasy/Young Adult
Pages: 288
Format: Audiobook
Source: Kindle Unlimited
AmazonAddto Goodreads


My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Goodreads Synopsis:


It's been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels' stronghold in San Francisco where she'll risk everything to rescue her sister and he'll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.
  
     

I read this back in like 2015 and this was the review from then - however - I can't remember liking this book as much as I wrote here. So I think it is time to do a reread especially since I never actually got around to actually reading book 2 and I have seen this book series do a come back and I have seen it appear in deferent social media platforms such as Youtube and Instagram. I did read this via audiobook from Kindle unlimited. I do believe it is still free with to listen to with kindle unlimited so I think I will be adding it back to my to be read pile.

I enjoyed the book. It did have a slow start to me. I didn't really get into the book until around chapter 10 and then it picked up for me. By the end of the book she has me wanting to know what happens in book 2. I just hope that book 2 doesn't take as long to get me into the book.

I did enjoy the story line and there are some major twist and surprises in the book that I was almost grossed out by. BUT I could not put the book away. When she actually got to the wall of stitched up kids, and the details she put in to explaining their bodies and stitches was very well detailed.

Thanks for the great read. I am off to read book number 2.
     

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: These Witches Don't Burn by Isabel Sterling

Aug 5, 2019

These Witches Don't Burn by Isabel Sterling


Published by Razorbill on May 28th, 2019
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, LGBT
Pages: 336
Format: Audiobook & Hardback
Source: Overdrive via Brooklyn Public Library
AmazonAddto Goodreads


My rating: 3 of 5 stars
     

TW - language (if you don't want your child to have bad language), deaths, bi, lesbians, gay.


Goodreads Synopsis:


Hannah's a witch, but not the kind you're thinking of. She's the real deal, an Elemental with the power to control fire, earth, water, and air. But even though she lives in Salem, Massachusetts, her magic is a secret she has to keep to herself. If she's ever caught using it in front of a Reg (read: non-witch), she could lose it. For good. So, Hannah spends most of her time avoiding her ex-girlfriend (and fellow Elemental Witch) Veronica, hanging out with her best friend, and working at the Fly by Night Cauldron selling candles and crystals to tourists, goths, and local Wiccans.

But dealing with her ex is the least of Hannah's concerns when a terrifying blood ritual interrupts the end-of-school-year bonfire. Evidence of dark magic begins to appear all over Salem, and Hannah's sure it's the work of a deadly Blood Witch. The issue is, her coven is less than convinced, forcing Hannah to team up with the last person she wants to see: Veronica.

While the pair attempt to smoke out the Blood Witch at a house party, Hannah meets Morgan, a cute new ballerina in town. But trying to date amid a supernatural crisis is easier said than done, and Hannah will have to test the limits of her power if she's going to save her coven and get the girl, especially when the attacks on Salem's witches become deadlier by the day.
  



I was so excited to read this book and that cover was so cute. This book was not a bad book but I think it was just predictable. I guessed who the Hunter was from the first fire.

I did enjoy this book and it kept me entertained but there were moments I was like - I don't think that has to be in there. It did read as a very young book hence Young Adult but it did feel a little young. Maybe on the younger side of YA. It did have a lot of fluff and fill in but it was still a solid 3 star book.

Hannah is an elemental witch - not a spoiler - it in the synopsis - and part of a coven. They are trying to keep the coven quiet. She is not allowed to tell anyone what she is or even do magic in public in front of the reg's. Hannah struggles with the love her ex girlfriend - Veronica - also a witch. Veronica always appears needing to be saved and always calls for Hannah.

“She'll never understand. The realization washes all the fight out of me, leaving behind only heartache. I gently pull my wrist from her grip. "Because," I say, my voice so soft it's nearly swallowed up by the trees, "I'm standing here, telling you how much you hurt me, and you can't hear it." Tears fill my eyes. I've lost the strength to hide them. "You broke my heart, and you didn't even notice. How can I ..." My throat closes up, I look away. "How could I ever trust you to put the pieces back together?”

Now - these girls are still in school so it does seem very young for Hannah to take on such grown roles. When she would try to be the hero - all I could think is - this girl is still in school and being a child.

There has been some magic that appears to be a blood which that has arrived in town and Hanna is trying to solve this mystery of who the blood witch is. Then the girls start getting hunted one by and one and some get hurt, even a reg. which they are not supposed to be harmed. You are introduced to several people in this book and the author does try to throw you off from who the real Hunter is. But I did figure out who it was from the very first fire that happened. But I have watched way to many horror films.

“I step closer to the flames, until I feel the lick of heat against my face. The energy cascades over me, through me,driving out the lingering hurt from seeing Veronica. Numbing bad memories like a magical Novocain.”

My heart did break for Hannah at the end because of something that happened to her family and I felt her pain. This book was fun and it did have its moments but I think if it would have been more of an adult style with grown adults and covens - I would have loved this so much more.
     
   
View all my reviews
Read more »

EDELWEISS ARC: Reverie by Ryan La Sala

Aug 1, 2019

Reverie by Ryan La Sala


Published by Sourcebooks Fire on January 7th, 2020
Genre: Fantasy
Pages: 418
Format: PDF ARC
Source: Edelweiss
AmazonAddto Goodreads



MY FIRST 2020 ARC!!!!



Thank you to Edelweiss and the publisher Source books for releasing this for review in exchange for my honest review.

"A dream you dream alone is only a dream. A dream you dream together is reality. " YONO ONO




Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and a maniacal drag queen sorceress attempting to unravel the reality of Connecticut (yes, the state) and replace it with something…well something better than Connecticut.

Ryan La Sala’s debut fantasy is an #OwnVoices story following Kane Montgomery, a gay teenager piecing his life back together after an attack robs him of his memories. As Kane searches for who he was, he uncovers a war for the creative rights to reality itself, each battle played out in an imagined world turned real: a reverie.

Reveries are worlds born from a person’s private fantasies, and once they manifest they can only be unraveled by bringing their conflicts to resolution. Reveries have rules and plots, magic and monsters, and one wrong step could twist the entire thing into a lethal, labyrinthine nightmare. Unraveling them is dangerous work, but it’s what Kane and The Others do.

Or did, until one of The Others purged Kane of his memories. But now Kane is back, and solving the mystery of his betrayal is the only way to unite his team and defeat reality’s latest threat: Poesy, a sorceress bent on harvesting the reveries for their pure, imaginative power.

But what use might a drag queen sorceress have with a menagerie of stolen reveries? And should Kane, a boy with no love for a team that betrayed him, fight to stop her, or defect to aid her?

Reverie is about the seduction of escaping inwards, about the worlds we hide within ourselves, and the danger of dreams that come true.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Jul 31, 2019

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid


Published by Atria Books on June 13th, 2017
Genre: Historical Fiction
Pages: 388
Format: Audiobook & Hardback
Source: Overdrive via Brooklyn Public Library
Amazon Add to Goodreads
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Goodreads Synopsis:


Aging and reclusive Hollywood movie icon Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?

Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband has left her, and her professional life is going nowhere. Regardless of why Evelyn has selected her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.

Summoned to Evelyn's luxurious apartment, Monique listens in fascination as the actress tells her story. From making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the '80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way, Evelyn unspools a tale of ruthless ambition, unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love. Monique begins to feel a very real connection to the legendary star, but as Evelyn's story near its conclusion, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique's own in tragic and irreversible ways.

Written with Reid's signature talent for creating "complex, likable characters" (Real Simple), this is a mesmerizing journey through the splendor of old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it costs—to face the truth.


       

This is the second book of Taylor Jenkins Reid I have completed in 2 days. I am in love with her writing. I just want to listen and read all of her books! I listened to this book on audio via overdrive through my library. I loved the audiobook. I loved the narrators. They did a great job telling this story.

I heard so many great things about this book and have had it on my TBR since last year and thought it was time to read it while I was also reading Daisy Jones & the Six. I could not put either one down. By far 5 out of 5 stars.

“Never let anyone make you feel ordinary.”

Evelyn Hugo is known for her beauty not as much for her acting. The guys loved her and wanted to be with her, girls wanted to look like her. She was stunning. But now that she is older, she wants to do a tell all and the only person she will talk to is Monique Grant (white and African-American) - a nobody basically from unknown reporter. When this story started I did question myself why Monique and I knew there would be reveal at the end.

Who was Evelyn Hugo's greatest love? That was the question of the book. Out of seven husbands who did she love more. You might be surprised with the answer you get.

“I spent half my time loving her and the other half hiding how much I loved her.”

“And it will be the tragedy of my life that I cannot love you enough to make you mine. That you cannot be loved enough to be anyone’s.”

Sometimes loving someone is harder than what you think when you are in the eye of everyone. She was famous and always made the headlines with every choice she made. Mostly it was the seven husbands she married. You will the hear the high and lows of her life and the heart breaks that I could feel as I listened to this book. Evelyn is great woman, you just have to see the honesty in her.

“Sometimes reality comes crashing down on you. Other times reality simply waits, patiently, for you to run out of the energy it takes to deny it.”

This book was heartbreaking. This book makes you think about how short life can be and how much time we waste on things that are not important. What will all the money in the world get yo in the end if you don't have your true love. The true love story hid in these pages are done so great and then why - oh why - did she pick Monique to write her tell all. You might be surprised.

This is two different timelines - You have Evelyn and Monique in the present time and as Evelyn tells her story - it takes you to that time and you see the story unfolded then. Beautifully done.

“When you write the ending, Monique, make sure the reader understands that all I was ever really looking for was family. Make sure it’s clear that I found it. Make sure they know that I am heartbroken without it.”

We are also told the story of Celias - which stared in the same movie - Little Women - as Evelyn Hugo. People were afraid of her because of her talent. She was the one they feared at Oscar time. But not Evelyn. Evelyn was happy for her. Evelyn had the biggest heart. She just had to do things she did not want to do to protect the very person she loved so much because she would do anything to not to hurt that love! Celias. but Celias could not get passed the face that Evelyn was bi and even though Evelyn's love was strong for Celias - somethings just hurt no matter how much someone loved another.

“Please never forget that the sun rises and sets with your smile. At least to me it does. You’re the only thing on this planet worth worshipping.”

This story is breath taking and so very well written. The story ended in such sweet tragedy. My heart hurts for all that was lost but everything that was gained. I have by far moved Taylor Jenkins Reid to my tops of my favorite authors. I highly recommend you to pick up her books.
     

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid - BEST BOOK OF 2019

Jul 30, 2019

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid


Published by Ballantine Books on March 5th, 2019
Genre: Historical Fiction
Pages: 368
Format: Audiobook & Hardback
Source: Overdrive via Brooklyn Public Library
AmazonAdd to Goodreads


My rating: 5 of 5 stars
     

TW: drug use, alcoholism, addiction, abortion, cheating, abandonment, deaths, sex (all of your basic 70 troupes)


Goodreads Synopsis:


Everyone knows Daisy Jones & The Six, but nobody knows the reason behind their split at the absolute height of their popularity . . . until now.

Daisy is a girl coming of age in L.A. in the late sixties, sneaking into clubs on the Sunset Strip, sleeping with rock stars, and dreaming of singing at the Whisky a Go Go. The sex and drugs are thrilling, but it’s the rock and roll she loves most. By the time she’s twenty, her voice is getting noticed, and she has the kind of heedless beauty that makes people do crazy things.

Also getting noticed is The Six, a band led by the brooding Billy Dunne. On the eve of their first tour, his girlfriend Camila finds out she’s pregnant, and with the pressure of impending fatherhood and fame, Billy goes a little wild on the road.

Daisy and Billy cross paths when a producer realizes that the key to supercharged success is to put the two together. What happens next will become the stuff of legend.

The making of that legend is chronicled in this riveting and unforgettable novel, written as an oral history of one of the biggest bands of the seventies. Taylor Jenkins Reid is a talented writer who takes her work to a new level with Daisy Jones & The Six, brilliantly capturing a place and time in an utterly distinctive voice.








"BE STILL MY HEART" TOP BOOK OF 2019

Lets first start by saying I had no desire to read this book at all. But the more I heard about it, the more I wanted to know what everyone was talking about. I am not fond of the 70's lifestyle but i wanted to see what all the hype was about. GUYS! Best book I have ever picked up. I can no express to you or put in words how much I loved this book. This put me back at my teenage heart where I loved music groups and had pictures hanging all over my walls of my favorite singers. I could just see my walls being filled wit pictures and those album covers were epic.

This is by far the best book I have read of 2019! I listened to this on audio but followed along with it in the book. This had a full cast audio and by far the best audiobook I have ever listened to. The book was wrote in an interview format which I was sure how I felt about it at first but I absolutely fell in love with this format. You could feel the 70's coming out of the pages. I really wish that they would put these songs into a CD - the book world would sell this album out. I want to hear the sounds behind all the words and music they were writing and singing. I am a singer so my singer heart is wanting to hear these tunes. I do love how at the end of the book, they wrote the songs out for you so you could read the lyrics but let us please get this album! I wanted this band to be real but it is fictional but it is wrote so well that you fall in love with the cast. They are rude, judgmental, arrogant, and self-absorbed but this cast together made the best music of the 1970's. This is one band that I would want front row seats and back stage passes to.

I don't even know where to start with this cast. The book starts off by introducing all the cast of "THE SIX" - they are being interviewed at how their journey started and how their stardom to fame took off and ended.

Billy - Billy was confused. His life was hard. He never had his father there, he struggled with drugs and made bad decisions but when he missed the birth of his first child, his entire life changed. He struggled with staying away from drinking, drugs, and even Daisy. (BTW, I loved Camila but this thing between Billy and Daisy could have been BIG!!!!! That bad could have exploded!

Camila - I love Camila - the heart of a pure wife and loving mother. It never lost her trust and faith in her family and her husband. She held on.

Graham - Brother to Billy - such a good brother in my thoughts but sometimes being there is not enough and he begins to learn who is there for him.

Karen - OK so I loved Karen. She was all about herself but I still felt connected with her. She reminded me so much of me when I was younger. Never wanted to marry or have kids. It was my life and I wanted to enjoy it and never wanted anyone to interfere with my life. However, I loved her and Graham. My heart wanted this for them and then when "The something" happened - my heart broke and I was devastated at her choice she made. I don't want to spoil that something!

Warren & Eddie - not my favorite two people.

Teddy - Billy's sidekick. Billy was lost without him until one day he has no choice.

Then we meet Daisy - a nobody wanting to be somebody and will do as she pleases to get what she wants. She will dress, walk, talk, and do as she wants regardless of what others think. You wanted to love her, you wanted to hate her, you wanted to be her, but you ended up just feeling sorry for her and loving her completely. She is a complete drug addict, hitting bottoms and coming back only to hit bottom again. Doing things without thinking of her consequences. I wanted to beat her at times, hug her at times, and even cry with her times. Her love for Billy was heartbreaking and doing the right thing at the end was the hardest thing I watched for this band. I loved them even with all the chaos going on around them.

I ended this book laying in bed with my ear buds in my ears and looking at the pages of the book as I read along as I listened and this book stunned me. I did not want it to end. I wanted to see more and hear more. I wanted things to be different. My heart hurt but I knew that the choices made were the right ones even though my mind stood still. I wanted to immediately start the book over and hope things would change if I read it again but HELLO - its a book - it wont change but this journey was so much fun. This is by far the number 1 book of 2019 for me.

This book was full of amazing quotes. I don't normally annotate my books but this book is one I want to re-read and annotate the tail off of it. Here are some of the great ones that stuck out.

“Men often think they deserve a sticker for treating women like people.”

“I think you have to have faith in people before they earn it. Otherwise it's not faith, right?”

“You have these lines you won’t cross. But then you cross them. And suddenly you possess the very dangerous information that you can break the rule and the world won’t instantly come to an end. You’ve taken a big, black, bold line and you’ve made it a little bit gray. And now every time you cross it again, it just gets grayer and grayer until one day you look around and you think, There was a line here once, I think.”

“Passion is...it's fire. And fire is great, man. But we're made of water. Water is how we keep living. Water is what we need to survive.”

“You have to have one person in your life that you know would never do anything to steer you wrong. They may disagree with you. They could even break your heart, from time to time. But you have to have one person, at least, who you know will always tell you the truth.”

“No matter who you choose to go down the road with, you're gonna get hurt. That's just the nature of caring about someone. No matter who you love, they will break your heart along the way.”

“Music is never about music. If it was, we'd be writing songs about guitars. But we don't. We write songs about women."

“But knowing you’re good can only take you so far. At some point, you need someone else to see it, too. Appreciation from people you admire changes how you see yourself.”


This is one book I could go on and on about but I will end here - but highly highly recommend this book, even if you don't read stand-alones or want to give it a try - DO IT!!!!
     


View all my reviews
Read more »

REVIEW: Heartstopper Volume Two by Alice Oseman

Jul 29, 2019


Heartstopper: Volume Two by Alice Oseman

Published by Hodder Children's Books on July 2019
Genre: Graphi Novel
Pages: 315
Format: Online
Source: From Tapas
AmazonAdd to GoodreadsTapas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

TW -Bullying and MORE
Goodreads Synopsis:

Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love. An LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between: this is the second volume of HEARTSTOPPER, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.

Nick and Charlie are best friends. Nick knows Charlie's gay, and Charlie is sure that Nick isn't.

But love works in surprising ways, and Nick is discovering all kinds of things about his friends, his family ... and himself.

Heartstopper is about friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie's lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.

This is the second volume of Heartstopper, with more to come.





I
This is the same review from book one because I read these online and don't know where the story actually ends but it basically the same.
did read this for free on the online web comics through Tapas. I started reading it as a fill in between my other books I am reading and actually really loved it. It is LBGT but the story is very soft and cute. You felt like you watching to school kids falling in love - which is what you are reading lol but the story was done very well. The art was very cute and very easy to read and follow.

So as soon as I finished Volume 1 (I think are chapters 1 &2)- I completed Volume 2 (I think are chapters 3). I am not sure how the volumes end on the web comics but I am caught up and waiting for next episode to be published in 3 days for Chapter 4 which is probably going to be Volume 3 when published. I may be wrong but I think that looks right. With out actually having the books in hand, I can't tell where the books end and start. I am thinking of ordering them so I can own them since they are very cute.

Okay now a little about this - we basically have a boy that is gay name Charlie and he meets Nick in school and they become best friends but they are basically fighting to keep their feeling hide. Such a cute book. I don't want to give much off. It is a fast read. Also - there are several Trigger Warnings - but since I have read this off Tapas - I am not sure what TW to post because I don't want to spoil up coming Volumes for those that have not read this yet. - but one of the biggest one is bullying.


Pic Samples:     


View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Heartstopper: Volume One

Heartstopper: Volume One by Alice Oseman

Published by Self-Published on October  2018
Genre: Graphi Novel
Pages: 288
Format: Online
Source: From Tapas
AmazonAdd to GoodreadsTapas
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

TW -Bullying
Goodreads Synopsis:

Charlie, a highly-strung, openly gay over-thinker, and Nick, a cheerful, soft-hearted rugby player, meet at a British all-boys grammar school. Friendship blooms quickly, but could there be something more...?

Charlie Spring is in Year 10 at Truham Grammar School for Boys. The past year hasn't been too great, but at least he's not being bullied anymore, and he's sort of got a boyfriend, even if he's kind of mean and only wants to meet up in secret.

Nick Nelson is in Year 11 and on the school rugby team. He's heard a little about Charlie - the kid who was outed last year and bullied for a few months - but he's never had the opportunity to talk to him. That is, until the start of January, in which Nick and Charlie are placed in the same form group and made to sit together.

They quickly become friends, and soon Charlie is falling hard for Nick, even though he doesn't think he has a chance. But love works in surprising ways, and sometimes good things are waiting just around the corner...


From the author of Solitaire and Radio Silence comes a bind up of the first two chapters of Heartstopper, an ongoing webcomic




I did read this for free on the online web comics through Tapas. I started reading it as a fill in between my other books I am reading and actually really loved it. It is LBGT but the story is very soft and cute. You felt like you watching to school kids falling in love - which is what you are reading lol but the story was done very well. The art was very cute and very easy to read and follow.

So as soon as I finished Volume 1 (I think are chapters 1 &2)- I completed Volume 2 (I think are chapters 3). I am not sure how the volumes end on the web comics but I am caught up and waiting for next episode to be published in 3 days for Chapter 4 which is probably going to be Volume 3 when published. I may be wrong but I think that looks right. With out actually having the books in hand, I can't tell where the books end and start. I am thinking of ordering them so I can own them since they are very cute.

Okay now a little about this - we basically have a boy that is gay name Charlie and he meets Nick in school and they become best friends but they are basically fighting to keep their feeling hide. Such a cute book. I don't want to give much off. It is a fast read. Also - there are several Trigger Warnings - but since I have read this off Tapas - I am not sure what TW to post because I don't want to spoil up coming Volumes for those that have not read this yet. - but one of the biggest one is bullying.


Pic Samples:     


View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: A Night at the Inn: A Lizzie Borden Short Story: Paranormal Short Story

Jul 24, 2019

A Night at the Inn: A Lizzie Borden Short Story by Kerry Evelyn
Published by Swan Press on October 28, 2018
Genre: Adult Fiction
Time: 33 Minutes
Format: Audiobook
Source: From Scribd
AmazonAdd to Goodreads
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Goodreads Synopsis:

Only the cat knows what really happened…

Will Donovan has big plans on his last free weekend
before he joins the FBI. With romance on his mind, he tells his girlfriend Emma she can pick anywhere she wants to go. To his dismay, his mystery-loving girlfriend chooses the Lizzie Borden Bed and Breakfast. Not quite the romantic backdrop he had envisioned, but for Emma, he would go anywhere. Especially if it meant securing their future together before he leaves.


At the Inn, things are not what they seem. Late in the night, curious meowing wakens the guests. Perhaps Max, the resident cat, desires a midnight adventure? Fueled by the gruesome tale of Lizzie Borden and her parents’ mysterious deaths, they follow a trail of ever-distancing meowing to an ominous hole inside the basement wall.


Together with their quirky fellow guests from the third floor, can Will and Emma solve the mystery of what really happened back in August of 1892 before time runs out for Will’s big plan to win Emma’s heart for keeps?




I have always been fascinated with the story of Lizzie Borden so when I seen this fast read, I wanted to add this to the list of reads. I was headed to bed and I love a fast audiobook before bed. It tends to relax me. This was a fun listen. I really enjoyed it. You did get a glimpse of the story of Lizzie Borden but I also loved the story of the Cat. Very good and fast. I did get confused at first because the narrator is female so i was thinking the guy talking was a girl but Will is a guy folks. lol.

The audiobook on Scribd was only 33 minutes so I don't want to say much because the Goodreads Synopsis explains this book to a "T"
View all my reviews
Read more »