Review: The Lightning Thief

Dec 19, 2019

The Lightning Thief The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I have heard so many great things about this series but wasn't sure I wanted to pick up because this is a huge world but when it popped up as a recommendation on GR because I like "Hidden Wings" by Cameo Renae then call me intrigued because I love "THE Hidden Wings" series and it is the series that gave me my love for reading so here is to hoping!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Igniting Darkness

Igniting Darkness Igniting Darkness by Robin LaFevers
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

THIS COVER!!! I can't deal with this beauty!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Harrow the Ninth

Harrow the Ninth Harrow the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Guys this book cover! IT has to be better than the first!!! I can not wait to see what Melanie Parker thinks of this book since book one was one of her favorites for 2019.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The Shadow Wand

The Shadow Wand The Shadow Wand by Laurie Forest
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Wait WHAT?? Book 3?? When did this happen. I still need to read book one which I have owned since it was released! I am so far behind. Come on 2020 do me good and let me get tons of reading in and less reading slumps! 2019 has been bad with the slumps.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The Betrothed

The Betrothed The Betrothed by Kiera Cass
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Looks like Kiera Cass is at it again with her girls and dresses! Here is to 2020 and all the new releases!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Unravel the Dusk

Unravel the Dusk Unravel the Dusk by Elizabeth Lim
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I have not read book one to this yet but guys, this cover is just a lovely as the first book!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Aurora Burning

Aurora Burning Aurora Burning by Amie Kaufman
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

GUYS!!! Look what is coming to us in 2020!! BOOK 2 to the "The Aurora Cycle" - So many happy feels!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Six of Crows

Six of Crows Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I want to read these so that I will not ruin things for myself when the Netflix series comes out. Do I need to start with The Shadow & Bone series so I will not be lost? I have heard it both ways. But some say to fully understand the magic system you need to read the Shadow & Bone series first! Any suggestions?

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Hidden Wings

Hidden Wings Hidden Wings by Cameo Renae
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

December 2019 UPDATE!! Time for a reread! I have been having the erg to dive back into this world. Honestly I think I need yearly reread every year. This series is what started my love for reading. I enjoy the world building and the books just get better as they go! I highly suggest you give these books a shot. They are such fun reads!

This book was wonderful. I love this author. After I read her Hidden Wings series, I had to meet the author behind the books. I had the luck of meeting her last year and again this year. She takes you on a journey. You get to escape all the pressures of life and dive into the YA. She was YA author of 2016 for Penned Con 2016. I watched as she accepted her award for this book series.

This story is a love story between Emma and Kade. When she turns 18 she must make a choice of which side she will choose. She is struggling because she has fell for and Angel but Lucifer wants her also so he sends his own distraction her way. So will she choose good or bad?

She is caught in the battle of Darklings and Fallen angles. Her family and friends become targets in trying to keep her safe and in the protection of the barrier from the Fallen Angels. After danger accours to her family she must take a trip to Hell and come face to face with Lucifer himself to try to save her family and her own life. The 5 stages of hell is just amazingly told and described in such details.

How will this story unfold?? You must read this!!! I recommend.... This is all in book 1!!!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Freaky Hearts

Freaky Hearts Freaky Hearts by Amanda M. Lee
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

This is another series I started and actually very much enjoyed and never made it through book 3 and just stopped. I hate that I can't make it through series even though I am highly enjoying them. Now there are 9 books out. They are small books but still - I will need to start completely over since it has been around 4 years since I read the first one. SOMEONE KICK ME into gear!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The King of Crows

The King of Crows The King of Crows by Libba Bray
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

WHY??? I am started this series this year and fell behind on the read-a-thon with everyone else. I am still halfway through book 2 but will have to start that one over. I have read book 1 like 3 times. I really need to get caught up because I just know this story better & better.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Heartstopper: Volume Three

Heartstopper: Volume Three Heartstopper: Volume Three by Alice Oseman
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

OMG!!! Hearts!!!! I am so excited! This story is such a cute read. I read both book 1 & Book 2 online but I really need to own all of these. These are such cute reads!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Every Heart a Doorway

Every Heart a Doorway Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

December 2019: Okay, I did not realize that it has been this long since I tried reading this book but I have been wanting to try and pick this entire series up. They are small reads and with the new release of book 5 coming out in 2020 I want to try to get to these. I love the world setting and reviews I have heard about these books so here is to 2020 and picking up this series. I am going to try to make 2020 my series year and finish series I have not finished. I have so many I started and never completed.

July 2018: I will come back to this book. I think I had to many books going to and could not find myself getting into it. I really want to take my time on this small book. I have heard good things about it and want to give it another try.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Child of a Mad God

Child of a Mad God Child of a Mad God by R.A. Salvatore
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Okay.. So I have a question. I want to get started on this authors work BUT I have no idea where to start. Do the worlds collide in all of his books? Is there a starting point? is there a reading order of his books that any one would recommend or a YOUTUBE video that has the best line up for his books?

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Scavenge the Stars

Scavenge the Stars Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Bring on this goodness!!!! This cover guys!!! 2020 is looking to be a good year.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: One of Us Is Next

One of Us Is Next One of Us Is Next by Karen M. McManus
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I am so excited for the release of this month next month. I have loved Two can keep a secret. Can't wait to see where she takes us in this book.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Stolen Princess

Stolen Princess Stolen Princess by Nikki Jefford
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

I am so far behind on this series!!! There are 4 books in this series and I am behind!! I love this author. I have met her for the last 3 or 4 years at Penned Con in St. Louis and I always look forward to seeing her!! Time to get caught up!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Regretting You

Regretting You Regretting You by Colleen Hoover
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Hey guys, for you that are interested, this book is free to listen & read if you have KU. Just wanted to throw that out there for you guys!

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Boundary Haunted

Boundary Haunted Boundary Haunted by Melissa F. Olson
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

So, I have read this authors books since the Scarlet Bernard series and I read but I have fell behind on her last few books and now she has another entire new series out. But the only issue is, it has been about 4 years since I read the books. I found her books need to be read in order due to characters merging together from other series. So, I think it may be time to do a read of her books. The good thing is, most of her books are free to listen too & read with KU.

Anyone else read her books? I just hate that I have let myself fall so far behind and now it is hard to remember anything. I do remember love the Scarlett Bernard series and the second series after that.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Teeth in the Mist

Teeth in the Mist Teeth in the Mist by Dawn Kurtagich
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I noticed I rated this a 4 star... After thinking on this and I keep wanting to reread and I talk to everyone about this book - I am changing it to a 5 star. This book was great.

Trigger Warning: Demonic sounds in the audiobook, Death, Gore, Creepy factors, Cutting, self-harm.

I took a few days to dwell on this one! I really enjoyed the book but I had to take a moment and wrap my head around the timelines and how they all came together. I am going with a 4.5 star on this. I think the timelines throw me off some and then the ending is a bit confusing so that is why the book is not a full 5 stars.

I did listen to this on audiobook and the audiobook along deserves 5 Stars. So I am giving the book a 4 and the audiobook a 5 so leaving my rating a 4.5. I did read and follow along with the audiobook in the hardback book just so I could see the pictures and format that was set up in the book. They were both done very well as far as formatting.

We follow several POV's in the book which each had their own timeline. This audiobook had amazing sound effects. The voices were outstanding. It made the book so creepy just hearing the sounds and the voices instead of just reading it.

Zoey (NOW)
Roan (1851)
Hermione (1583)

You also have several others in the time that Roan was in when she arrived at Mill House that arrived with her. She tells her story as she seen it there, with their stories as well. They are all connected to one thing, Mill House.

Roan arrives at Mill house as a ward of the state. She arrives and finds that the house feels uneasy. Things are not what they appear here. Sounds and the darkness surround her everywhere.

Zoey is in the now and has always been fascinated with Mill house so she and her best friend, Pole, set off to explore Mill Hose and to find out why it drove her dad mad.

Hermione lived in 1853 and you get her dairy entries as she telling her story. You hear the match strick and light the candle as she writes and then she tells her story. She and her husband are expecting a child and have just acquired Mill House but soon she notices things are not right. You follow her journey in the darkness of Mill House.

There are 3 things that Mill House has in every timeline and POV - it is dark, creepy, and has many deaths. The mountain scenes were done in great detail. The darkness seeped through the pages.

You also soon realize that they were not just randomly chosen for Mill House. They were all brought there for a reason. BUT WHY?

SPOILERS GOING FOWARD BASED ON ME HAVING QUESTIONS THAT NEED TO BE ANSWERED"

(view spoiler)

Can someone help me out with the timelines?

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Saga, Vol. 2

Dec 6, 2019

Saga, Vol. 2 Saga, Vol. 2 by Brian K. Vaughan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Love the characters in this. Worth the read.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Fall of the Elves

Dec 4, 2019

Fall of the Elves Fall of the Elves by Alexis Samson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received a review copy from the author. A 4.5 stars. Thank you for reaching out to me and asking me to give this book a read.

I was a little intimidated by the size of this book at first and I told the author *WOW* it is long lol but after reading the synopsis I wanted to give this fantasy a try and I am glad I did.

This was a debut and I absolutely loved it. The world building was done very well. The story kept me intrigued and even though the book was long and there was a lot of debt put into this book, I was still very surprised at how much I really enjoyed this book.

This book follows 2 POV's. Zariah and Tessa. The chapters go between POV and I love when a book is done this way. The closer you get to the end of the book, you can begin to see how the 2 world collide. There is lots to love about this book. The friendship and magic in this book was done great.

I love following Tessa on her dreams and her dreams of Zariah.

Now, the surprising thing is, I don't normally read books with dragons but every once in a while one will peak my interest and the author did great on how the dragon was written in.

I loved this story and I am looking forward to book 2 of this and other works by this author. For this to be a debut, the author took a lot of time building and knew what she wanted from this book. Great job done.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Welcome to Dead House

Welcome to Dead House Welcome to Dead House by R.L. Stine
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have wanted to start reading the Goosebumps books. I never read them as a child. Now, I do think since I am older these are not going to be as good. I can see how a child would be very interested in these.

It is a strong 3 stars but that is it for me. I really didn't do anything for me except provide me with a fast read.

We have a family that has received notice that a great uncle left them a house and after moving to the home in Dark Falls, strange things begin to happen. People are not always what they seem to be in this town. And everyone we meet has lived in the "The Dead House"

"This was a normal town once, and we were normal people. Most of us worked at the plastics factory on the outskirts of town. Then one day there was an accident... something escaped from the factory, a yellow gas. It floated over the town so fast that we didn't see it, didn't realize... and then it was too late, and Dark Falls wasn't a normal town anymore.”

I do recommend it but if you don't want your children reading about dead things, you may want to give this a read first before letting them read it.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Reverie

Dec 3, 2019

Reverie Reverie by Ryan La Sala
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

The publication date was pushed up on this and I was unaware. I will get to this as soon as I can this month. BUT happy publication day to REVERIE!!


MY FIRST 2020 ARC!!!!

Thank you to Edelweiss and the publisher Source books for releasing this for review in exchange for my honest review.

A dream you dream alone is only a dream. A dream you dream together is reality. YOKO ONO

Goodreads synopsis:

Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and a maniacal drag queen sorceress attempting to unravel the reality of Connecticut (yes, the state) and replace it with something…well something better than Connecticut.

Ryan La Sala’s debut fantasy is an #OwnVoices story following Kane Montgomery, a gay teenager piecing his life back together after an attack robs him of his memories. As Kane searches for who he was, he uncovers a war for the creative rights to reality itself, each battle played out in an imagined world turned real: a reverie.

Reveries are worlds born from a person’s private fantasies, and once they manifest they can only be unraveled by bringing their conflicts to resolution. Reveries have rules and plots, magic and monsters, and one wrong step could twist the entire thing into a lethal, labyrinthine nightmare. Unraveling them is dangerous work, but it’s what Kane and The Others do.

Or did, until one of The Others purged Kane of his memories. But now Kane is back, and solving the mystery of his betrayal is the only way to unite his team and defeat reality’s latest threat: Poesy, a sorceress bent on harvesting the reveries for their pure, imaginative power.

But what use might a drag queen sorceress have with a menagerie of stolen reveries? And should Kane, a boy with no love for a team that betrayed him, fight to stop her, or defect to aid her?

Reverie is about the seduction of escaping inwards, about the worlds we hide within ourselves, and the danger of dreams that come true.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Fall of the Elves

Fall of the Elves Fall of the Elves by Alexis Samson
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received a review copy from the author. A 4.5 stars. Thank you for reaching out to me and asking me to give this book a read.

I was a little imitated by the size of this book at first and I told the author *WOW* it is long lol but after reading the synopsis I wanted to give this fantasy a try and I am glad I did.

This was a debut and I absolutely loved it. The world building was done very well. The story kept me intrigued and even though the book was long and there was a lot of debt put into this book, I was still very surprised at how much I really enjoyed this book.

This book follows 2 POV's. Zariah and Tessa. The chapters go between POV and I love when a book is done this way. The closer you get to the end of the book, you can begin to see how the 2 world collide. There is lots to love about this book. The friendship and magic in this book was done great.

I love following Tessa on her dreams and her dreams of Zariah.

Now, the surprising thing is, I don't normally read books with dragons but every once in a while one will peak my interest and the author did great on how the dragon was written in.

I loved this story and I am looking forward to book 2 of this and other works by this author. For this to be a debut, the author took a lot of time building and knew what she wanted from this book. Great job done.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Sophia Freeman and the Mysterious Fountain

Sophia Freeman and the Mysterious Fountain Sophia Freeman and the Mysterious Fountain by T.X. Troan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received a copy of this from the author after reaching out to me via email. Thank you for allowing me to give this a read. SUCH A CUTE READ!

A high 4.5 star!

This was a very short read and I really enjoyed it. After the author reached out and I read the synopsis - I had to give this a read. It sounded very cute. It is a middle grade so if you are not into middle grades then I recommend not picking it up. BUT if you are like me and still enjoy the fun world of middle grades, then I highly recommend you to pick this up. I do think that YA readers will adore this book.

I don't want to go into much detail about the book due to it is pretty short but the synopsis of this book is very detailed in telling you the story. I loved the world building and the journey that Sophia took us on. I had no trouble following along in this book.

I am excited to know that this is just book 1 and we will have more in this world.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The Perfect Nanny

Nov 20, 2019

The Perfect Nanny The Perfect Nanny by Leïla Slimani
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

The story of this book sounded so good but I was let down.

The story was interesting but at the end it just stopped and even my husband looked at me and said "is that it?" I expected there to be a twist somewhere or something. But the opening of the book basically told you how the book ends and the middle of the book is just how the nanny got to the end.

If the author would have left the ending for the ending of the book, I would have loved this book but because it was revealed in the beginning, I guess I was expecting a twist but nope, just the story on how the nanny killed the kids.

I wanted so much more from the story. More detail into why the nanny did what she did but that was it. Also, we had so many characters thrown into the story that I feel were not needed. I understand the author was trying to tell the nanny's story but I wasn't outlined very well and the side characters just seemed to be fillers.

This is like a 2.5 star - that is why I wish GR would give us half star ratings but I don't like to rate down - so I have to rate up - which means the ratings for the book is actually wrong.

If you want to just read a book to have something to read then fine go ahead and read this but I don't recommend reading it. I kept pushing through because I thought there was going to be more of story line toward the end but nope - it just ends.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The Handmaid's Tale: The Graphic Novel

Nov 17, 2019

The Handmaid's Tale: The Graphic Novel The Handmaid's Tale: The Graphic Novel by Renée Nault
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I have been fascinated by this story since I started watching the TV show. This has become one of my all time favorite stories.

This Graphic Novel follows along with the show. I do love the art work and the strong story behind this. It makes me think of what it could really be like for women if they take our rights away. The story did end a bit different but I see where the ending came from. Based on the show - the women recorded tons of tapes and this ends with references to the tapes.

The government has been taken over and the world they once knew is no longer there. Women no longer have rights and men control it all. Women are used to carry babies to the wives that are unable to conceive. Forced to have monthly routines and ceremonies, this story is sad. I love how strong June is. The TV show is amazing. It is a bit for the mature audiences only so kids allowed for this show peeps.

I don't want to give much since this is such a short novel but I highly recommend it.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Harmony House

Harmony House Harmony House by Nic Sheff
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

With it being Halloween season I wanted something a bit more scary but I ended up really not enjoying this. If this wasn't so short I would have DNF'd it. I really don't know the story line to this book.

We follow Jen and her move to a new town and new home. The thing is, the people in the town talk about how scary and haunted Harmony House is but I feel like you never get the back story. You find out that apparently Jen is supposed to have some kind of power but I don't know, I just really did not get this book. It was very mixed. It wasn't put together well. The story was not smooth. It was just skipping and you missed a lot of between the lines stuff that wasn't there for you.

I am shacking my head 3 times no on this one. It took me way to long to read this only 5 hours audiobook.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me

Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was just okay. I really wanted to love it but it just didn't happen. There were times I would get a bit lost and wonder where the story just jumped to but then I would catch back up.

The art was very good. I loved the colors. That is what drew me into this graphic novel.

We follow 2 girls that keep dating and breaking up. Laura Dean is a bit of an egocentric person. She cares for no one but herself. But poor Freddy keeps wanting more.

After Freddy keeps pushing away her best friend to make things happen with Laura Dean, things become clear. Something is wrong with Freddy's best friend. Doodle becomes secluded and when someone tells Freddy she needs to be concerned for her best friend, Freddy searches out the matter.

The story line is cute by the very end but getting there was a bit confusing at times. I think I was comparing it to "Heartbreaker" but please don't do that. It does mess the story up when comparing it to that. I wanted the feels from this one like I got from Heartbreaker, but it didn't happen. I think that I why it let me down.

It is still a solid read and a solid 3 stars.

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Capturing the Devil

Capturing the Devil Capturing the Devil by Kerri Maniscalco
My rating: 0 of 5 stars

Okay, so I have set on this a while and I did not love this. I was so disappointed in the last installment of this series. I love Kerri and her writing but this wasn't my favorite story. I wanted so much more of the H.H. Holmes story but you honestly got like 25% H.H. Holmes & 75% love story. Granted, I loved the story but it was so long. The author definitely took her time with this so everyone could get the love story but I wanted more of what we got in the first 2 books. Book 3 and Book 4 began to really lean toward Thomas & Audrey a lot more and their story.

H.H. Holmes has so much behind his story. I have been researching him for about 2 years and there was so much that could have been put into this story. I also kept getting thrown off because she kept calling him Jack the Ripper. - Yes some believe he may be the same but some do not. I did watch a study on H.H. Holmes that was featured by Holmes' great great great grandson. He was trying to debunk if Holmes really was the Ripper. Now there are a million and one signs that points him to being the ripper. Such as his fake names being used on the logs that boarded the ship to London at the time the Ripper attacks happened as well as when they stopped, it showed his name on the return manifest. Then the killings began to happen in Chicago.

I don't really know but I wanted to so much more on this story.

NOW Kerri does have a new work in process and I still make sure I pick anything she writes.

BEFORE THE RELEASE OF THE BOOK AND MY UPDATES ON GOODREADS AS I WAS WAITING ON REALEASE TO HAPPEN
My heart can not wait until the release of this book! I don't think she could have ended a series off on a better story. I have special ordered the Beacon Box for this book and then there is another box where this book is being featured coming March 30th that I am eyeing.

I have also bought several of the releases and special books editions for Finale by Stephanie Garber. These 2 book are my most anticipated for 2019. The days are getting closer even though I still have to wait until September for Capturing the Devil. I also, have not seen the actual cover reveal for this book yet, so I am so excited when I get to this book cover.

**The story of H.H. Holmes runs pretty close to the story of Jack the Ripper. Actually, some believe that H.H. Holmes is Jack the Ripper since he fell off the grid around the time Jack the Ripper started his killing spree in London. Records have even been found that H.H. Holmes used several different names and those names were found on a manifest going toward London before the murders. The story of H.H. Holmes intriques me and the murder house that he built. The mind of this guy was insane but he had to be very intelligent to build this home and no one ever catch what he was doing. Story was told that he would fire the hired hands because he did not want anyone finding out his design for the murder house. I can not wait to see her side of this story. **

If you have not watched the TV series on H.H. Holmes then I would highly suggest this.

Also, to add the joy of this book coming out, there is rumor that possibly Kerri Maniscalco may be in Nashville with no other than Stephanie Garber herself. They will be there for a book signing on May 11th. Now, I don't think Kerri has actually announced this so I could be wrong but my heart would be so happy to have 2 of my favorite authors in one place! I can NOT contain my excited until I hear if the news is true!!!!

View all my reviews
Read more »

2020 ARC Provided by NetGalley: The Deep by Alma Katsu

Sep 20, 2019

The Deep by Alma Katsu




Published by Transworld Digital on March 3rd, 2020
Genre: Horror Historical Fiction
Format: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Addto Goodreads
     

HOLY COW!! I am so excited to find out I received this via Netgalley! If I see a mention of Titanic - I am like - "I NEED THIS BOOK NOW" Thank you so much to the publisher and to Netgalley for the free copy of this in exchange for an honest review!



Goodreads Synopsis:

Someone, or something, is haunting the Titanic.

This is the only way to explain the series of misfortunes that have plagued the passengers of the ship from the moment they set sail: mysterious disappearances, sudden deaths. Now suspended in an eerie, unsettling twilight zone during the four days of the liner's illustrious maiden voyage, a number of the passengers - including millionaires Madeleine Astor and Benjamin Guggenheim, the maid Annie Hebbley and Mark Fletcher - are convinced that something sinister is going on . . . And then, as the world knows, disaster strikes.

Years later and the world is at war. And a survivor of that fateful night, Annie, is working as a nurse on the sixth voyage of the Titanic's sister ship, the Britannic, now refitted as a hospital ship. Plagued by the demons of her doomed first and near fatal journey across the Atlantic, Annie comes across an unconscious soldier she recognises while doing her rounds. It is the young man Mark. And she is convinced that he did not - could not - have survived the sinking of the Titanic . . .
Brilliantly combining fact and fiction, the historical and the horrific, The Deep reveals a chilling truth in an unputdownable narrative full of unnerving moments and with a growing, inexorable sense of foreboding.


   
View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Hopeless Magic by A.K. Koonce

Hopeless Magic by A.K. Koonce


Published by Self-Published on Feb. 6th, 2018
Genre: Adult/Romance
Pages: 142
Format: Audiobook & Paperback
Source: SCRIBD
Add to Goodreads


My rating: 3 of 5 stars


GoodReads Synopsis:

If life really was a fairy tale, Zakara would never be the damsel in distress. She’d be a thief, and Prince Charming wouldn’t have a clue how to steal the heart of the conniving criminal.

Zakara saves not one, but three men locked inside the tallest tower. Her first instinct is to ditch them as soon as possible, but they have one thing that intrigues her more than wealth:

Magic.

Fae magic once ruled the world, until it disappeared without a trace. Only myths of the magic wielders linger in their destroyed society.

The three prisoners claim to be fae, but she doesn’t trust them.

She doesn’t trust anyone.

Can Prince Ryder convince the pretty thief to lead them to the Hopeless City? Or will she kill him before they even arrive?

This is a reverse harem serial. Recommended for readers over 18.

I will probably continue on with them because they are so short and because I bought the book set. Maybe the story will progress as it goes along and you will get more out of the story.



I met this author last week at Penned and I have seen these books on Scribd so I bought her books and decided to give them a listen on Scribd. The book is about 3 hours long but I finished it in about an 1 hour. I listened to it at 3X the speed.

This book was basically the beginning of a book. I would say all the books she had could probably have made one big novel. This was about 142 pages and in those 142 pages you basically got exactly what the Synopsis says and that is pretty much the book. Plus a few Adult scenes.

 
  
View all my reviews
Read more »

ARC provided by Netgalley: Elizabeth Webster and the Court of Uncommon Pleas by WIlliam Lashner

Sep 19, 2019

Elizabeth Webster and the Court of Uncommon Pleas by William Lashner


Published by Disney Hyperion on October 15th, 2019
Genre: Middle Grade
Pages: 320
Format: Ebook
Source: Netgalley
Add to Goodreads
   

ARC provided by Netgalley and the Publisher in exchange for an honest review


Goodreads Synopsis:


Welcome to Elizabeth Webster's world, where the common laws of middle school torment her days . . . and the uncommon laws of an even weirder realm govern her nights.

Elizabeth Webster is happy to stay under the radar (and under her bangs) until middle school is dead and gone. But when star swimmer Henry Harrison asks Elizabeth to tutor him in math, it's not linear equations Henry really needs help with-it's a flower-scented, poodle-skirt-wearing, head-tossing ghost who's calling out Elizabeth's name.

But why Elizabeth? Could it have something to do with her missing lawyer father? Maybe. Probably. If only she could find him. In her search, Elizabeth discovers more than she is looking for: a grandfather she never knew, a startling legacy, and the secret family law firm, Webster & Son, Attorneys for the Damned.


Elizabeth and her friends soon land in court, where demons and ghosts take the witness stand and a red-eyed judge with a ratty white wig hands out sentences like sandwiches. Will Elizabeth's father arrive in time to save Henry Harrison-and is Henry the one who really needs saving?


Set in the historic streets of Philadelphia, this riveting middle-grade mystery from New York Times best-selling author William Lashner will have readers banging their gavels and calling for more from the incomparable Elizabeth Webster.
  
   

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: The Chain by Adrian McKinty

The Chain by Adrian McKinty


Published by Mulholland Books on July 9th, 2019
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 357
Format: Audiobook & Hardback
Source: Overdrive via Brooklyn Public Library
AmazonAddto Goodreads


My rating: 4 of 5 stars



TW: Child Abduction, Child Abuse, Murder and threats of murder, death of family members


Goodreads Synopsis:


You just dropped off your child at the bus stop. A panicked stranger calls your phone. Your child has been kidnapped, and the stranger explains that their child has also been kidnapped, by a completely different stranger. The only way to get your child back is to kidnap another child within 24 hours. Your child will be released only when the next victim's parents kidnap yet another child, and most importantly, the stranger explains, if you don't kidnap a child, or if the next parents don't kidnap a child, your child will be murdered. You are now part of The Chain.  



If you struggle with these types of trigger warnings, I highly recommend not picking this book up. Some parts are disturbing as we imagine what is happening to each child.

This is a very strong 4.5 stars. I wanted to give it 5 for part 1 of this book, but part 2 fell behind some. I still highly enjoyed this. I read this with in 24 hours and could not put it down.

The chain is set up to never be broken. You must steal a child, pay a ransom, call someone and they must follow the same rules but if someone breaks the chain it could cause consequences to those previously in the chain.

Finally "The Chain" thought they picked the right person to do the job. They research and study them to make sure they choose the right person for "The Chain" and without fail the mother the picked will do whatever she can to save her child. But sometimes a mother will do more and try to also prevent it from happening to other families. Some chains are just meant to be broken or that is what she thinks. Can you find out who they are before they find out she is trying to reveal their secret?

I do recommend this book but only if you are able to deal with very strong "Trigger Warnings"

   
Read more »

ARC Provided by Netgalley: The Furies by Katie Lowe

Sep 18, 2019

The Furies by Katie Lowe


This page-turning, harrowing debut is the story of a girl trying to fit in, whose obsessive new friends and desperation to belong leads her to places she'd never imagined...dark, dangerous, and possibly even violent.

In 1998, a sixteen-year-old girl is found dead.

She's posed on a swing on her boarding school's property, dressed all in white, with no known cause of death. Whispers and rumors swirl, with no answers. But there are a few who know what happened; there is one girl who will never forget.

One year earlier: a new student, Violet, steps on the campus of Elm Hollow Academy, an all-girl's boarding school on the outskirts of a sleepy coastal town. This is her fresh start, her chance to begin again in the wake of tragedy, leave her demons behind. Bright but a little strange, uncertain and desperate to fit in, she soon finds herself invited to an advanced study group, led by her alluring and mysterious art teacher, Annabel.

There, with three other girls--Alex, Grace, and Robin--the five of them delve into the school's long-buried grim history: of Greek and Celtic legends; of the school founder's "academic" interest in the occult; of gruesome 17th century witch trials. Annabel does her best to convince the girls that her classes aren't related to ancient rites and rituals, and that they are just history and mythology. But the more she tries to warn the girls off the topic, the more they drawn to it, and the possibility that they can harness magic for themselves.

Violet quickly finds herself wrapped up in this heady new world of lawless power--except she is needled by the disappearance of a former member of the group, one with whom Violet shares an uncanny resemblance. As her friends' actions take a turn for the darker and spiral out of control, she begins to wonder who she can trust, all the while becoming more deeply entangled. How far will these young girls go to protect one another...or to destroy one another?
        




ARC provided by Netgalley and the Publisher in exchange for an honest review

   
View all my reviews
Read more »

UPDATE Goodreads Win: Dead Silence by Wendy Corsi Staub

Dead Silence by Wendy Corsi Staub


Published by William Morrow on July 23th, 2019
Genre: Mystery/Thriller
Pages: 366
Format: Paperback
Source: Goodreads
Amazon Addto Goodreads


UPADTE: 9/18 - Well I never got my ARC copy of this and was so excited that won book I was looking forward to I had one on goodreads. I waited since June and never got it. So disappointing. I reported I never got it on here on Goodreads but never got a response. I was so looking forward to this book. Oh well, this makes 2 books from this publishing company In 2 months that I never got my book. However, I did get some of the others. I don't blame them if they sent the item because it could have been my mail lady and she tends to deliver our mail to the wrong addresses. I am always loosing packages because she sends them to the wrong address but with out a tracking number the post office cant locate a package. 


I am excited to find out that I have won the Goodreads Giveaway for this book! I can't wait to get this book in the mail. I have read so many great books the last 2 months. I love a good Mystery/Thiller book!!

Goodreads Synopsis:

New York Times Bestselling Author Wendy Corsi Staub is the master of psychological suspense. Here, she delves into the twisted mind of The Angler, who lures his human prey the way he catches fish. Sometimes, he gets one worth keeping . . . for a little while . . .

No Such Thing as Coincidence . . .

Staring into his frightened blue eyes, investigative genealogist Amelia Crenshaw Haines vows to help this silent little boy who is unable—or unwilling—to communicate his past. Though her own roots remain shrouded in mystery, she relies on tangible DNA evidence to help fellow foundlings uncover theirs . . . until a remarkable twist of fate presents a stranger bearing an eerily familiar childhood souvenir.

NYPD Missing Persons Detective Stockton Barnes has spent his career searching for other people’s lost loved ones and outrunning a youthful misstep. Now a chance encounter with a key player from that fateful night leads him on a desperate quest to locate the one woman he’s ever regretted leaving—unless a savage killer finds her first.

As Amelia and Barnes uncover intertwining truths—and lies—the real horror emerges not in crimes already committed, but in evil yet to come . . .

View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Username: Regenerated by Joe Sugg

Sep 17, 2019

Username: Regenerated by Joe Sugg


Published by Running Press Kids on Nov 1st, 2016
Genre: Graphic Novel
Pages: 192
Format: Paperback
Source: Purchased online
AmazonAddto Goodreads


My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Evie is safe home, but her heart remains in e.scape. She's desperate to return, but the app that transports her has corrupted in the great reboot.
When besotted geek, Lionel, offers to help, he doesn't just restore the gateway as she had planned. He opens up a series of revelations that calls into question everything Evie treasures in life. With a momentous discovery to be unearthed in the virtual realm, and an e.scape fugitive on the loose in reality, can our sidelined schoolgirl save not one world but two?


    

I love this graphic novel set. The world building is so great. I don't want to give to much information as this is the second book in the series.

Evie returned home in book one but she is at it again. She has been missing e.scap and she will stop at nothing to get herself back there. Only this time she is searching for someone.

In the process of getting to e.scape the app version she needed to get back on her computer was corrupted so when she had a friend to work on it, he mistakenly added the original app version of the world but he wasn't aware the danger that version could cause.

When Evie enters into the app, she wasn't aware the app was the older version and soon chaos begins to break because danger from the other side invaded her world. With help from the other side war begins to rage.

Love this book!





   
View all my reviews
Read more »

Review: Tomie by Junji Ito

Tomie by Junji Ito
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Published by VIZ Media on Dec 20th, 2016
Genre: Manga, Horror
Pages: 752
Format: Hardback
Source: Goodwill
AmazonAddto Goodreads

Tomie Kawakami is a femme fatale with long black hair and a beauty mark just under her left eye. She can seduce nearly any man, and drive them to murder as well, even though the victim is often Tomie herself. While one lover seeks to keep her for himself, another grows terrified of the immortal succubus. But soon they realize that no matter how many times they kill her, the world will never be free of Tomie.  



     

TW: GORE, BRUTALITY, MURDER, HORROR, TONS OF DEATH

I really surprised myself reading this entire book. 752 pages or so but I really did enjoy it.

This book is full of short stories that follow Tomie, a beautiful young girl that can not die. She is so beautiful that men love her so much they cut her into pieces. She drives them mad with her beauty and she knows it. She ignores them but she uses them to get what she wants done.

The only thing is when Tomie is chopped up, each piece of her creates a brand new Tomie. The world is over flowing with Tomie's by the time this book end. There were some stories I enjoyed more than others but with that being said, I still highly enjoyed them all.

The Art work for this Manga was very easy to read. You understood the story in each picture.

I do highly recommend this book. I will be checking out other work by this author and if I am not mistaken Tomie has been made in to a movie. So I may have to check that out as well. This was a fun side read.

















View all my reviews
Read more »