The Remnant Chronicles

Aug 17, 2018

The Kiss of Deception
In a society steeped in tradition, Princess Lia's life follows a preordained course. As First Daughter, she is expected to have the revered gift of sight―but she doesn't―and she knows her parents are perpetrating a sham when they arrange her marriage to secure an alliance with a neighboring kingdom―to a prince she has never met.

On the morning of her wedding, Lia flees to a distant village. She settles into a new life, hopeful when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive―and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deception abounds, and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets―even as she finds herself falling in love.

The Kiss of Deception is the first book in Mary E. Pearson's Remnant Chronicles.

The Heart Of Betrayal
Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape . . . and even less of being together.

Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komisar that she has a magical gift, and the Komisar's interest in Lia is greater than either Kaden or Lia foresaw.

Meanwhile, the foundations of Lia's deeply-held beliefs are crumbling beneath her. Nothing is straightforward: there's Rafe, who lied to her, but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom she always believed to be barbarians but whom she now realizes are people who have been terribly brutalized by the kingdoms of Dalbreck and Morrighan. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her very sense of self, Lia will have to make powerful choices that affect her country, her people . . . and her own destiny.

The Beauty of Darkness
The third and final book in the New York Times-bestselling Remnant Chronicles.

Lia has survived Venda—but so has a great evil bent on the destruction of Morrighan. And only Lia can stop it.

With war on the horizon, Lia has no choice but to assume her role as First Daughter, as soldier—as leader. While she struggles to reach Morrighan and warn them, she finds herself at cross-purposes with Rafe and suspicious of Kaden, who has hunted her down.

In this heart-stopping conclusion to the Remnant Chronicles trilogy that started with The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal, traitors must be rooted out, sacrifices must be made, and impossible odds must be overcome as the future of every kingdom hangs in the balance. New York Times-bestselling author Mary E. Pearson's combination of intrigue, suspense, romance, and action makes this a riveting YA page-turner for teens.

Before borders were drawn, before treaties were signed,
before wars were waged anew,
before the great kingdoms of the Remnant were even born
and the world of old was only a hazy slate of memory told in story and legend,
a girl and her family fought to survive. And that girl’s name was Morrighan.
In Morrighan, a prequel novella to Mary E. Pearson's The Remnant Chronicles, a girl and a boy from enemy camps meet, fall in love--and set history in motion.

Dance of Thieves
A stunning new adventure set in the kingdoms of the Remnant.

A formidable outlaw family that claims to be the first among nations.
A son destined to lead, thrust suddenly into power.
Three fierce young women of the Rahtan, the queen's premier guard.
A legendary street thief leading a mission, determined to prove herself.
A dark secret that is a threat to the entire continent.
When outlaw leader meets reformed thief, a cat-and-mouse game of false moves ensues, bringing them intimately together in a battle that may cost them their lives—and their hearts.

The Kiss of Deception: Book 1

This was my first book by Mary E. Pearson.I will be reading more. Moving on to the next book in this series.

I loved this book so much. I am so invested in the lives of these characters. I have not been pulled in this much I read Caraval last year. I can't believe it took me so long to pick this series up. I have loved these covers and I own the books but it wasn't until I seen it on my library so I picked it up.

Lia doesn't like feeling trapped in a Kingdom where she can no be who she wants to be and love who she wants to love. She runs away but before she left, she stole something from the kingdom and now, not only is she being by the prince that she was supposed to wed but also a hired an assassin for the item she stole.

I do really enjoy the love story that unfolds by Lia and Rafe, the prince (which Lia is no aware is the prince)

I also love the story of Pauline. She was such a faithful friend to Lia. I think it would be a great spin off to write about Pauline and let her have her won story. But I haven't finished the rest of the books yet so the story of Pauline may change. (No spoilers please) :)

This book was a page turner. I could not listen to this book fast enough. It was so good. All I could do when I got off work was pop in my ear buds and listen to this and I would even go to bed early just to lay in my bed to listen to it.

I highly recommend this book.

The Heart of Betrayal: Book 2

WOW.... That ending...

This book was great. I think I enjoyed book 1 more but this was a very strong 5 star second book. There were some slow moments but they were story building to the plot.

We are still following Rafe and Lia as they have been captured and they are fighting to escape. This book is so great. There are moments of blood shed that my heart was ripped out. I felt the pain that Lia was feeling.

I can not wait to move on to book 3!

The Beauty of Darkness: Book 3

I listened to this series on audio book through my library. I love the narrators. It was a multi cast. It took me 3 days to listen to this book. It was 18 hours long but I did listen to it on 2X the speed. With me working a fulltime 40 hours job and taking care of my 5 dogs and husband, this was a very fast listen to me.
Such a great ending to a trilogy. I highly enjoyed this entire book series. If you love a good fantasy, I would recommend you to pick up this series. It has went straight up to one of my favorite series. The strength that Lia has to put others first is just amazing. She is willing to sacrifice her life and her the love of her life for the protection of her people.

It is hard to give you any details on this book since this is the 3rd book in the series. BUT WOW... that ending. I had some happy and sad moments in the end, but Mary Pearson did not disappoint. I love how the life of Kaden and Pauline went. The strength these 2 have that change in them and their love and strengths amaze me. Pauline has a story that is strong. She is a side character in the book but I loved her story.

Lets not forget Rafe. He had me torn apart. Having to sacrifice his love for Lia for his Kingdom. Wow.. these strengths of these characters are so good.
Mary Pearson did a great job telling this story. I loved the world building. It was so vivid and so in detail you could see it world as she described it.

No comments:

Post a Comment